top of page
  • Alissa Lapinsky

It's Happening. Like for real.

So y'all.....it's happening. I mean, I got a logo, I posted online about it, I made myself an Instagram for it, I got an email. I mean it's *been* happening...but now it feels real. The location is found, the lease is about to be signed, and soon enough I'll be holding the keys to my new fabric store. It's the most nervous/excited I've felt since I opened my hair salon back in 2008.


It's been a steep learning curve for sure. From signing up for wholesale accounts, building a website assuming the inventory controls and point of sale system I chose will be exactly what I need...to only find out its not, and the next two I find aren't either. But I continue the search for what I need (on my cell phone at 1 am because isn't that where all good business ideas are born?) and find it, and do the trainings, and finally I'm ready to go live.


And then the questions begin. But is it going to be what they like? Is it going to be what they need? Is it even going to make any money? And then I have to sit back and realize....it is what it is. It's going to be whatever I make it into. I have to have faith in my ideas, my taste, my design, and my vision. I've built a salon before, I know I can build a fabric store.


Oceans of Thread is shop for everyone. For those who sew a lot, those who sew a little, and those who have always wanted to sew but didn't know where to start. There will be classes to span all levels, and there will always be a smiling, helpful face when you walk in. I'll be building a hoard of fabric that has a bit of everything for everyone, but will probably lean towards the bright, saturated colors that bring me joy. I'll have needles, thread, patterns, rulers, batting and the such. I'[ll have longarming available for your quilts. The patterns will range from quilts to bags to clothing.


Of course this all won't happen right away, but my goal is to have it fully together, and fully stocked within 6 months. I'll be adding prints from Andover, Free Spirit, Robert Kaufman, Windham, and In the Beginning fabrics, and then Painter's Palette solids from Paintbrush Studios. I'll be stocking Creative Grids rulers, Olfa rotary cutters, and patterns from companies like Jaybird Quilts and Made by Rae. I'm totally open to suggestions of what you like, and what you want to see. Please either comment below, or send me a message so I can stock what you love most!



Ladies and Gentlemen, I'm putting my heart and soul into this shop. And I hope you can feel it the second you walk in. I can't wait to see you there!



254 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page